A Case of Threat

Bonjour from New York! I arrived just this morning and I have settled into my new lodgings in Greenwich Village. What luck that somebody sent me a case with the offer of accommodations! Very convenient.

Although I must admit it was not the place that expected; it’s a fine lodging, nice and clean and middle class but… well, it’s difficult to explain. I suppose I thought of Americans as being very firm, masculine people by the standard of Europeans, but in my lodgings my attendants and my clients, they are all particularly… I guess I will say, foppish. I do not complain; everyone has been awfully kind and the setting is quite enjoyable colorful. And though it is a stretch for my comforts, I must protect the lives of these rather kind gentlemen who have hosted me.

Onto the case; the establishment of these men has been targeted for their connections to their… lifestyle, and a public event which they are looking to organize has multiple times been threatened with a bomb attack, apparently by an extremist of a religious nature. Multiple times they have had to cancel the party at the final minute, but each time the anonymous attacker gives them a most rude and threatening message the moment they are in the middle of planning the event again. They have called the police, they have searched all the premises, but they have found no device. It is difficult to search in a large place, but they have gone through all the cabinets in the kitchen, all the nooks and crannies, cleared out the basement – all to no avail. Therefore they have hired Hercule Poirot – c’est moi – to see if I can figure out if and how they are going to be attacked.

I have my suspicions, but if you have any ideas, I would appreciate to hear them. Please comment if you have any ideas!

Poirot

12 Responses to “A Case of Threat”

  1. Flitterbie Says:

    Well, if there’s no bug, this group must be getting the information through other means. Is the event planned by more people than just your two clients? If so, is it the same group of other people every time?

  2. The Wild West Pyro Says:

    Dear Monsieur Hercule Poirot:

    If it is an extremist, he must be either one of the five major religions in this world: Jew, Christian, Buddhist, Muslim or Hindu.

    I suspect he is Muslim. There is a huge rift between Americans and Muslims at the moment. It all started with this horrific incident:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/September_11_attacks

    Then there was a war in the Middle East, with the USA fighting Iraq, because of the terrorist attacks.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/War_on_Terror

    Many people were killed there, so I think that the extremist is planning revenge for a loss.

    The Wild West Pyro

    • Flitterbie Says:

      However, this does not seem to be an attack based on nationality, rather a lifestyle that I am assuming is homosexual in nature. Correct me if I’m wrong, M. Poirot.

      • saintofdeduction Says:

        I do not correct you, Monsieur Flitterbie; though, excusez-moi, if you must understand my sentiments would prevent me from saying it myself.

      • Flitterbie Says:

        How so, if you don’t mind me asking?

      • saintofdeduction Says:

        Perhaps you may understand, Monsieur Flitterbie. For growing up in Spa (so many years ago), I was told such acts were an affront to God and society. And indeed it seemed to me that when I was travelling around, when observed those behaviors in other men, the gentry were quick to let me know that it was not at all favored. As such, when I first heard about the nature of Daniel and Esteban (for they insist it is their nature) and its relation to the case, I had great personal hesitation in taking it. Nevertheless I was so charmed by their warmness and hospitality, that I was persuaded. I believe that no man – and certainly not they – would deserve to die so lawlessly and deprived of dignity.

      • Flitterbie Says:

        Honestly, for most people nowadays, the general sentiment is just ‘live and let live.’ With obvious exceptions from the people sending these threats.

    • saintofdeduction Says:

      Monsieur TheWildWestPyro, I cannot say for certain which religion this man is, but it seems that he is worshipful of God and focused on the penance of sin, as this line indicates. As the note threatened:

      “The blazes of this bomb that will rip you limb from limb is too good for you, but it is all that I can do; the rest I will leave to God, and your lack of penance and flaunting of your sin will surely cause you to face the worst of God’s wrath.”

      If it is so, the man is perhaps Muslim or a Christian, or even a Jew; any of ‘les religions abrahamique’ would suit our culprit. The real question is instead how is so persistent in making contact with only this party, organized by these two men Daniel Hendrickson and Esteban Morena – even when they change venue, even when they search the place?

      • Flitterbie Says:

        Given the bomb threat, I’d assume Christian or Muslim, Jews are less apt to this. Or, at least, are less stereotypically apt to this. Given the language, I’d assume Christian.

      • saintofdeduction Says:

        Could it really be a Christian? As a devout Christian myself it pains me to think a faith of love and compassion could inspire such obscene hatred and anger!

      • Flitterbie Says:

        Speaking as a fellow Christian, I am sad to say that yes, some have… misunderstood God’s word and believe that sinners (or those they believe to be sinners) need be sent to their maker as quickly as possible. What’s worse, they believe that they are doing God’s will in this, which can make reasoning with them difficult.

  3. TheWildWestPyro Says:

    As a Christian as well, I am afraid that there are some…fanatics that take Christianity far too seriously, even going as far to destroy people who have made the slightest offending remark at them.

    I am saddened that some Christians behave this way, and I hope the man or woman is brought to justice.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

